Vale lembrar que este blog não pretende de qualquer forma prejudicar bandas, artistas ou gravadoras, pelo contrário o objetivo é sempre divulgar e compartilhar diversão, cultura e educação.

Então se de alguma forma você se sentir prejudicado pelo blog, solicito que envie um email para (progrockcontramao@hotmail) que prontamente deleto o material escrito ou link. O mesmo vale para pedidos e sugestões.

Todos os álbuns aqui postados foram adquiridos de forma legal em vinil ou cd, em lojas especializadas, sebos ou com amigos e sugiro que após ouvir algo que goste procure comprar o original.

Divirtam-se e aproveitem o espaço que é nosso.
Márcia Tunes
Remember that this blog is not intended in any way injure bands, artists and record labels, rather the goal is to always disclose and share fun, culture and education.

So if somehow you feel harmed by blog, please send an email to (progrockcontramao @ hotmail) that promptly delete the written material or link. The same goes for requests and suggestions.

All albums posted here were purchased legally on vinyl or CD, in specialty stores, book stores or with friends and I suggest that after you hear something you like try to buy the original.

Have fun and enjoy the space that is ours.
Marcia Tunes

Para os Krautmaniacos

Visite meu novo blog totalmente dedicado ao Krautrock, divirta-se! Curta, comente, compartilhe!

Visit my new blog devoted entirely to Krautrock, enjoy, comment, share!

terça-feira, 13 de novembro de 2012

The Battered Ornaments - Mantle Piece (1969) UK (Progressive)


 Battered Ornaments were credited as the backup band to Pete Brown on their first album, 1969's A Meal You Can Shake Hands With in the Dark. For the follow-up, however, they chucked Brown out of the band and released it simply as the Battered Ornaments. It's a disappointment after its flawed but worthwhile predecessor, mostly because of Brown's physical absence; although his presence is still felt as the writer or co-writer of most of the songs, his vocals were erased and re-recorded by other members of the band. Brown's gruff voice might not have been that great, or as accessible to the pop audience as many other frontmen's of the time, but it did have character, which is something you can't say for the merely functional replacement vocals by the other musicians. It's also true, however, that the material on this record isn't as good or imaginative as the songs on A Meal You Can Shake Hands With in the Dark, lacking some of the jazz-blues-psychedelic colorings that made that prior LP interesting. The tunes are eclectic but disjointed, and while you can hear some of Brown's unusual and striking lyrical imagery bob up to the surface on some of the better numbers (especially "The Crosswords and the Safety Pins"), the anonymous vocals make their quality far easier to overlook. (The CD reissue on Repertoire adds two non-LP bonus tracks from 1969 singles, "The Week Looked Good on Paper" and "Living Life Backwards.")

1 - Sunshades Chris Spedding  3:28
2 - Late into the Night Pete Brown / Chris Spedding 5:23
3 - Then I Must Go Pete Brown / Chris Spedding 4:09
4 - The Crosswords and the Safety Pins Pete Brown 5:31
5 - Staggered Nisar Ahmad Khan 4:04
6 - Twisted Track Pete Brown / Chris Spedding 4:24
7 - Smoke Rings Roger Potter / Chris Spedding 5:07
8 - Take Me Now Pete Brown / Roger Potter / Chris Spedding 3:00
9 - My Love's Gone Far Away Pete Brown / Chris Spedding 3:32


Nenhum comentário: